Narendra Modi to visit South Africa to attend 15th BRICS Summit on August 22

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be visiting Johannesburg, South Africa, from 22-24 August, 2023, to attend the 15th BRICS Summit at the invitation of the country's President, Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa, officials said on Friday.

A file image of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Photo Courtesy: PIB

"This will be the first in-person BRICS Summit since 2019. The Summit will provide an opportunity to review progress of the initiatives launched by the grouping, and identify future areas of activity," read the statement issued by the Ministry of External Affairs.

The Prime Minister will also participate in a special event "BRICS – Africa Outreach and BRICS Plus Dialogue” being organized after the BRICS Summit, which will include other countries invited by the host nation.

During his visit, Modi will hold bilateral meetings with some of the leaders present in Johannesburg.

PM Modi to be a part of historic Greece tour

Following his visit to South Africa, he will pay an official visit to Greece on 25 August at the invitation of his Greek counterpart, Kyriakos Mitsotakis.

This will be the first visit by an Indian Prime Minister to Greece in 40 years.

India and Greece enjoy civilizational ties, which have strengthened in recent years through cooperation in areas like maritime transport, defence, trade and investments and people-to-people ties.

PM Modi will hold talks with Mitsotakis to discuss ways to further deepen the relationship.

He will also interact with business leaders from both countries, as well as with the Indian community in Greece.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more