Indian EAM Jaishankar to address 5th Indian Ocean Conference

With the Indian Ocean region coming to focus globally, littoral countries, including India, have gathered to attend the two-day conference (December 4-5) in Abu Dhabi.

Last time, Jaishankar was in Male for the Fourth Indian Ocean Conference 2019
Last time, Jaishankar was in Male for the Fourth Indian Ocean Conference 2019 . Photo courtesy: Twitter/@DrSJaishankar

Indian External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar will be addressing the fifth Indian Ocean Conference this year, along with the Sri Lankan President, Fijian Premier and the Maldivian Vice-President, the organisers said.

The conferences is being organised in alliance with the RSIS Singapore, Institute of National Security Studies, Sri Lanka and the Emirates Centre for Strategic Studies and Research, UAE.

This year, the theme of the Indian Ocean Conference 2021 is "Indian Ocean: Ecology, Economy, Epidemic".

There will be around 200 delegates and over 50 speakers from 30 countries. The inaugural address will be delivered by President of Sri Lanka Gotabaya Rajapaksa, the think-tank said, media reports said.

Last time, Jaishankar was in Male for the Fourth Indian Ocean Conference 2019, being organised by India Foundation, in association with the Government of Maldives and the S Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Singapore. Jaishankar was one of the speakers at the event.

The theme of the conference is "Securing the Indian Ocean Region: Traditional and Non-Traditional Challenges" and was organised on September 3-4  in the Maldives capital.

Read more India News and Global Diplomacy News here

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more