Former British prime minister Tony Blair meets Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik, discusses economic development of the eastern state

Former UK prime minister Tony Blair on Wednesday met Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik in Bhubaneswar and discussed the issue of economic development and growth of the East Indian state.

Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik meets former UK PM Tony Blair in Bhubaneswar. Photo courtesy: Naveen Patnaik Twitter page

Patnaik described his meeting with Blair as 'pleasurable'.

Following the meeting, the Odisha CM tweeted: "It is a pleasure meeting former UK Prime Minister, Mr. Tony Blair. Had a meaningful discussion on economic development and growth of #Odisha & future perspectives. Thank Mr. Blair for extending policy support, assistance in developing a comprehensive economic strategy for #Odisha. "

On July 21, the government of Odisha inked an MoU with the Tony Blair Institute for Global Change (TBI).

Patnaik tweeted: "Appreciate the preliminary suggestions of Tony Blair Institute for Global Change (TBI) focusing on inclusive benefits for our citizens. Thanked him for his praise for Odisha’s success in different sectors and appreciation for #5T initiative bringing transformation in governance."

Established in 2016, the Tony Blair Institute (TBI), commonly known by its trade name the Tony Blair Institute for Global Change.

It is a non-profit organisation set up by former UK Prime Minister Tony Blair to provide advice to governments and "to help political leaders build open, inclusive and prosperous societies in an increasingly interconnected world".


Sujoy Dhar
Sujoy Dhar

Sujoy Dhar is Group Editor of India Blooms News Service (IBNS), a 24x7 news portal cum wire service. A USA Today writer from India, he was formerly with Thomson Reuters and The Washington Times. He teaches journalism in several US universities.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more