Ex-East Asia division chief Pradeep Kumar Rawat takes charge as India’s envoy to China

Former head of the East Asia division in the Indian Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) Pradeep Kumar Rawat today joined as India's new ambassador to China.

Ambassador Pradeep Kumar Rawat
Ambassador Pradeep Kumar Rawat paid a farewell call on Prime Minister Mark Rutte. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@IndinNederlands

Rawat succeeds Ambassador Vikram Misri, who was appointed as the Deputy National Security Advisor.

Rawat arrived in China on March 4 and underwent mandatory quarantine as per China's COVID-19 protocols.

"HE Shri. Pradeep Kumar Rawat, Ambassador of India to the People's Republic of China assumed charge @EOIBeijing today,” the Indian Embassy here tweeted.

An Indian Foreign Service (IFS) officer of the 1990 batch, Rawat was previously India's ambassador to the Netherlands.

Rawat's appointment comes in the midst of the lingering eastern Ladakh border standoff. The Chinese aggression led to a clash in Galwan in June 2020 where the Indian Army lost 20 personnel, including Colonel Santosh Babu, but not before giving a reply in equal measure to the PLA.

He has earlier served in Hong Kong and Beijing. He served as the ambassador of India to Indonesia and Timor-Leste from September 2017-December 2020.

Rawat, who has worked with now external affairs minister S Jaishankar as his East Asia division head when he was the foreign secretary, has handled all the bilateral mechanisms and is known for his calm and professional demeanour.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more