Third phase of voting in UP; Punjab goes to the polls

Polling was held across 55 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh and all constituencies in Punjab today. Senior leaders of all parties made a last-ditch attempt on Friday to woo voters.

Polling for the 117-seat Punjab legislative assembly was held today.
Polling for the 117-seat Punjab legislative assembly was held today. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@PBNS_India

In Uttar Pradesh, polling is being held in seven-phases. In the third phase, 59 assembly seats across 16 districts will vote today. As many as 627 candidates are in the fray in the phase, in which over 2.15 crore people are eligible to vote.

The districts where polling is being held are Hathras, Firozabad, Etah, Kasganj, Mainpuri, Farrukhabad, Kannauj, Etawah, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kanpur Nagar, Jalaun, Jhanshi, Lalitpur, Hamirpur and Mahoba.

The Karhal Assembly seat, from where Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav is contesting, will also go to the polls in this phase on Sunday. The BJP has fielded Union minister S P Singh Baghel from the seat.

Polling for the 117-seat Punjab legislative assembly was held today. Voting began at 7am and went on till 6pm. Counting of votes will take place on March 10.

An estimated 64.42 per cent voting was recorded in the second phase of the assembly elections in 55 constituencies spread over nine districts in Uttar Pradesh last Monday, according to the Election Commission.

Saharanpur recorded a turnout of 71.13 per cent, Bijnor 65.91, Moradabad 67.26, Sambhal 62.87, Rampur 64.26, Amroha 71.98, Budaun 59.24, Bareilly 61.67 and Shahjahanpur 59.34 per cent, a statement issued by the election office said here on Tuesday.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more