GOAT race: Federer, Djokovic laud Nadal's Australian Open victory

Tennis superstars Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic congratulated their long-time rival Rafael Nadal after the Spaniard clinched a record 21st Grand Slam title with his Australian Open triumph, breaking the three-way tie.

Nadal now has 90 ATP titles under his belt and has won all four Grand Slams twice.
Nadal now has 90 ATP titles under his belt and has won all four Grand Slams twice. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@AustralianOpen

Rafa defeated Daniil Medvedev 2-6, 6(5)-7, 6-4, 6-4, 7-5 after a dramatic five-hour battle, in which he rallied from two sets down to take the final to a toe-to-toe fifth set.

The Spaniard has claimed his record-breaking 21st Grand Slam title, breaking the tie with Djokovic and Federer. Nadal now has 90 ATP titles under his belt and has won all four Grand Slams twice.

"What a match! To my friend and great rival, Rafael Nadal. Heartfelt congratulations on becoming the first man to win 21 Grand Slam singles titles," Federer said in a social media post.

Djokovic had been top seeded in the draw for the Open but was unable to play, deported from Australia on the eve of the tournament in a dramatic dispute over the country's COVID-19 entry requirements and his unvaccinated status.

Djokovic posted on his social media: "There has been some outstanding tennis played at this year's Australian Open and the finals were exceptional. Congratulations to Ashleigh Barty for an amazing performance in front of her home crowd and Danielle Collins for an incredible tournament. Congratulations to Rafael Nadal for 21st GS. Amazing achievement. Always impressive fighting spirit that prevailed another time. Enhorabuena.

"Daniil Medvedev gave it hit all out there and played with the passion and determination we have come to expect from him."

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more