Malayalam actor Asif Ali latest to join the UAE's golden visa fraternity

Malayalam actor Asif Ali is the latest Indian personality to be honoured with a UAE golden visa.

Asif and his family have been granted a 10-year golden visa at a ceremony at the Dubai residence and immigration department headquarters on Monday, the siasat daily reported. 

Malayalam actor Asif Ali
Malayalam actor Asif Ali (centre) with a UAE golden visa. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@aioe_official

Ali took to Instagram and expressed his gratitude to Dubai government for awarding him the golden visa.

Expressing his happiness, Asif Ali wrote, “Extremely thankful for giving me this prestigious honour. Dubai has always been like a second home to us Indians, esp malayalees.”

"I thank His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Makhtoum and the visionary leaders of this wonderful country for always encouraging and recognising the hardwork and talent of artists like us. This is indeed a huge motivation,” he added.

Asif Ali joined a list of actors like Mammootty, Mohanlal, Nyla Usha, Mithun Ramesh, Tovino Thomas, Prithviraj, Dulquer Salmaan and Asha Sharath from Malayalam receiving a golden visa.

The UAE golden visa is issued to individuals who have made outstanding contributions in various fields.

The golden visa was created by the UAE government in 2019 which allows foreigners to live, work and study in the country without the need of a national sponsor and allows the same with 100 per cent ownership of their business on the UAE mainland.

The visas are valid for five or 10 years and are automatically renewed.


CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more