Can't think of a time when I didn't want to be a racing driver: Karun Chandhok

Chennai-born Karun Chandhok is one of India's pioneers in international motorsport racing. He was only the second Indian to race in Formula 1, after Narain Karthikeyan. The UK-based driver is the son of Vicky Chandhok, founding president of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI).

Apart from F1, Karun has also competed in the FIA World Endurance Championship, Le Mans and Formula E. He is also the Williams Heritage Driver, driving the team’s vintage racing cars in public events. 

He also became the first Indian to compete in the iconic 24 Hours of Le Mans, participating in the 2012, 2013 and 2015 editions. 

In an exclusive interview, Karun talks to Connected to India about his life in racing, his career both on and off the track as well as the future of motorsports.

"At the age of three I dreamt of being a racing driver and had the breaks and the opportunity to carry on that dream," he said.

Continuing his commitment to racing, Karun has just become the youngest-ever person to be appointed to the Board of Directors of Motorsport UK, the governing body for four-wheel racing in the nation. He has also been an expert F1 commentator, seen and heard mostly as a pit-lane reporter.

"For drivers who want to climb to the pinnacle of the sport like Formula1 or Le Mans, you have to come to Europe. This is where the best young driver training championships are," he said, signing off.


Himanshu Verma
Himanshu Verma – Founder & CEO

Founder & CEO of Connected to India. Experience and understanding of working in print, electronic, on-mobile and online media. Led branding, marketing and communications teams at ESPN STAR Sports and PricewaterhouseCoopers. Found and divested digital marketing and communications consultancy, Like Minds Consulting to Fifth Ring of UK. Served as their MD for APAC.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more