UK pilot and Khalsa Aid volunteer Jaspal Singh honoured by Prime Minister Boris Johnson

A UK pilot and Khalsa Aid volunteer, Jaspal Singh has been honoured by Prime Minister Boris Johnson with the Points of Light award. Jaspal, who is a pilot with Virgin Atlantic, volunteered to fly 200 donated oxygen concentrators to India to help in the country's battle against COVID-19.

Photo courtesy:
Photo courtesy:

PM Johnson wrote a personal letter to Jaspal, thanking him for his “enormous contribution to India’s battle against Coronavirus.”

“The British people have stepped up in their thousands to help the people of India in a demonstration of the deep connection between our countries. I was inspired to hear of how you have taken to the skies to deliver hundreds of oxygen cylinders to people in need,” the letter read. 

Jaspal reached out to Virgin Atlantic after seeing the tragic impact of the pandemic in India, requesting them to aid relief work. 

“Having seen the devastating impact of COVID-19 in India, I wanted to do everything within my power to support the cause,” said Jaspal in a statement released by Points of Light. 

“It has been amazing to see the generosity of the general public, colleagues, friends and family who have donated much needed oxygen concentrator machines to ‘Khalsa Aid International’. This generosity inspired me to connect with Virgin Atlantic to see if we could enable these machines to reach the people of India, it was then an immense privilege to be able to personally fly these vital oxygen supplies,” he added. 

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more