PM Modi expected to address virtual UN General Assembly on September 26

File photo courtesy: Twitter/@PIB_India
File photo courtesy: Twitter/@PIB_India

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to address the virtual United Nations General Assembly scheduled to be held on September 26. This is the first time in the UN's 75-year history that the annual General Assembly session will be held virtually. Heads of state and government will not be physically attending the annual gathering due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. 

PM Modi is on a provisional list of speakers issued by the world body for the high-level meeting with world leaders submitting pre-recorded video statements for the session.

According to the list the prime minister is expected to address the General Debate of the 75th session of the General Assembly on the morning of September 26. The list however is still provisional and the speakers can be changed over the next few weeks. 

Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro is listed as the first speaker with the United States traditionally the second speaker on the opening day. It has been widely reported that President Trump might travel to New York and deliver the address in person. 

Others on the provisional list for the opening day include President of Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Chinese President Xi Jinping, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Iranian President Hassan Rouhani, and French President Emmanuel Macron.

The General Debate will commence on September 22 and continue till September 29.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more