ICC denies postponement of T20 World Cup 2020

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has said that the reports of a postponement of the ICC T20 World Cup are inaccurate and the planning of the event continues while a number of contingency plans are being explored in light of the rapidly changing public health situation caused by the COVID-19 virus. 

Photo courtesy: Twitter/@T20WorldCup
Photo courtesy: Twitter/@T20WorldCup

The T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in Australia in October and November. An event postponement could allow the BCCI to go ahead and replace the mega event with the Indian Premier League, which was shelved due to the pandemic.

On Thursday, cricket’s global governing body will further deliberate on the election of its next chair.

ICC’s current chairman Shashank Manohar has ruled out a third term in the office. In an official statement the ICC said, "The existing chair confirmed he was not seeking any extension of his term but would ensure a smooth transition."

The names doing the rounds for the next ICC chairman include Colin Graves, who stepped down as chairman of the England and Wales Cricket board and current president of the Board for Cricket Control in India (BCCI), Sourav Ganguly. 

Photo Courtesy: Sourav Ganguly/Instagram
Photo Courtesy: Sourav Ganguly/Instagram

Former South African captain and Cricket South Africa’s director of cricket Graeme Smith recently said that in this tough period for cricket, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly is the best person to take over as ICC Chief. “From our perspective, it would be great to see a cricket man like Sourav Ganguly maybe getting into the President’s role of the ICC,” Smith said. 

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more