Haryana Government formalises new department to handle NRI affairs

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar during a Cabinet meeting formalised the creation of a new government department to deal with Indian diaspora matters. 

The state government on Monday decided to create a Department of Global Cooperation and Engagement to streamline and focus on initiatives for the promotion of investment, employment for youth and welfare of non-resident Indians (NRIs) and persons of Indian origin (PIOs).

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar
Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar in the state Legislative Assembly. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@ians_india

The department will work to enhance international cooperation with provinces of foreign countries and engagement with cities under the sister provinces and twin cities programmes of the Ministry of External Affairs, an official statement read.

The new department will deal with the formulation of strategies for the promotion of investment, employment, education and skill development and promotion of state culture and welfare of the Indian diaspora on a country-by-country basis, it added.

It will also participate in bilateral working groups with a view to promote the state's interests in foreign countries in the area of trade and investment both in-bound and out-bound in consultation with the Ministry of External Affairs.

The department will also maintain a liaison with Indian missions abroad on matters pertaining to Haryana with regard to investment, employment, education, skill development, culture and issues relating to NRIs and PIOs.

Read more NRI News and India News here

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more