Indian-American Abhijit Banerjee, two others win Nobel Prize for Economics

Indian-American Abhijit Banerjee has been awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize for Economics. Photo courtesy: Twitter
Indian-American Abhijit Banerjee has been awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize for Economics. Photo courtesy: Twitter

India-born Abhijit Banerjee, his co-researcher and wife Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer have been awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize for Economics. The trio were given the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences for their efforts in "fighting poverty", the Swedish Academy announced today.

The trio’s "experimental approach to alleviating global poverty has considerably improved our ability to fight global poverty," said the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in a press release. “As a result of one of their studies, more than 5 million Indian children have benefitted from programmes of remedial tutoring in schools.”

58-year-old Banerjee was born in Mumbai, India but is now an American citizen. He was educated at the University of Calcutta and Jawaharlal Nehru University before receiving his PhD from Harvard University and is currently a Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). 

Esther Duflo, 47, was born in Paris and is also a professor at MIT while Michael Kremer, 55, is a professor at Harvard University. Duflo is the second woman and the youngest person to be awarded the Prize in Economic Sciences. 

Related articles

Ethiopian Prime Minister wins Nobel Peace Prize

Nobel Prize for Literature 2018 and 2019 awarded to Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke respectively

97-year-old wins Nobel Prize for Chemistry along with two others for Lithium-ion batteries

Nobel Prize in Physics awarded to Canadian-American cosmologist and two Swiss scientists

Nobel Prize for Medicine awarded to three US, UK researchers

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more