Climate change is existential for Singapore: PM Lee at UN Summit

While Singapore will be doing its “full part” to tackle climate change, the island state will not be able to stop climate change on its own, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong. 

Speaking at the Climate Action Summit on September 23, 2019, at the United Nations, PM Lee highlighted the importance of cooperation between countries to address the threat. 

“Like many Small Island States, Singapore is vulnerable, especially to the effects of global warming, and especially the rise of sea-levels. For us, climate change is existential.” 

Photo courtesy: Prime Minister's Office
Photo courtesy: Prime Minister's Office

He noted that while Singapore contributes only 0.11 per cent of global emissions, the country has “played [its] part as responsible global citizens to mitigate climate change”. Measures adopted include using solar energy to the maximum extent possible, implementing a carbon tax this year, and greening the physical and transport infrastructure. ​

Singapore is also cooperating with other countries on this cause. “We launched the Climate Action Package to offer capacity building programmes. We have contributed SGD 5 million to the ASEAN Specialised Meteorological Centre, based in Singapore, for a five-year regional capacity development programme for Southeast Asia. We have established the Southeast Asia Disaster Risk Insurance Facility, with the support of Japan and the World Bank, to provide flood risk pooling for the region.” 

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more