Bike-sharing firm Mobike applies to LTA to withdraw from Singapore market

Bike-sharing company Mobike Singapore has applied to the Land Transport Authority (LTA) to officially withdraw from the Singapore market. 

In a statement on Tuesday, March 12, LTA said that the firm had sought its consent to surrender its bicycle-sharing licence the day before, on March 11.

Under the Parking Places Act, a bicycle-sharing licence may only be surrendered with the written consent of the LTA, Todayonline said in a report.

Mobike also announced plans on Monday to pull out of some Asian countries and re-evaluate its units in other overseas markets. The move was amid a wide-scale contraction in the market and the bankruptcy of top competitor Ofo. 

Photo courtesy: Mobike
Photo courtesy: Mobike

Last April, Mobike was acquired by Beijing-based on-demand services company Meituan Dianping. 

LTA is currently assessing Mobike’s request. The regulators added that they will work with Mobike to ensure that it has fully explored all options, including its proposal to transfer assets or operations to existing licensees, to minimise impact to consumers.

Mobike has also been told that in the event that its application to surrender its licence is granted, the company must comply with proper exit processes. These include removing all bicycles from public places, and providing refunds for user deposits and pre-paid credits in accordance with the company’s terms and conditions.

The bike-sharing firm has also withdrawn its applications for a Personal Mobility Device (PMD) sharing licence, and to increase its maximum allowable shared bicycle fleet size, Todayonline added. 

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more