Akshay Kumar officially becomes an Indian citizen, shares information with fans on Independence Day

Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar on Tuesday said he has been granted Indian citizenship.

Akshay Kumar shares image of citizenship documents on X. Photo Courtesy: Akshay Kumar X page

Interestingly, he shared the news on the day when the country is celebrating its 77th Independence Day.

Kumar, who is known for shattering several Box Office records with his hit movies in the past, often faced criticisms for his Canadian citizenship.

He also shared an image of his citizenship documents, which has been granted to him by the Indian government, on X platform.

"Dil aur citizenship, dono Hindustani," Kumar wrote on X.

"Happy Independence Day! Jai Hind! ," he said.

In 2019, Kumar, while attending a session of Hindustan Times Leadership Summit, had promised he would apply for Indian citizenship soon.

“Having a Canadian passport does not mean I am any less of an Indian. I am very much Indian. I have been here since last nine years when I got the passport. And I don't want to get into the reason of why, what happened, my films were not working, blah blah blah, chalo woh theek hai,” he was quoted as saying by Hindustan Times.

“Yes, I had said it in 2019, I applied for it. Then uske baad pandemic aagaya. Uske 2-2.5 saal sab kuch band hogaya. Renounce ka abhi mera letter aagaya hai (Then the pandemic happened and everything shut down for 2-2.5 years. My renounce letter is here) and very soon my whole passport will be coming," he said.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more