IIFA 2017: What’s happening, when and where this weekend

IIFA awards in New York Photo courtesy: Colors TV
IIFA awards in New York Photo courtesy: Colors TV

The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards, being held at New York's MetLife Stadium this year, kickstarted with the IIFA Stomp event at Times Square. The event is stretched across four days with the main award ceremony to be held tomorrow.

Shahid Kapoor at TImes Square
Shahid Kapoor at TImes Square. Photo Courtesy: Twitter/@IIFA

This will be preceded by IIFA Rocks with blockbuster performances by Diljit Dosanjh, AR Rahman, Aditi Rao Hydari, Benny Dayal, Hariharan, Haricharan Seshadri, Jonita Gandhi, Kailash Kher, Mika Singh, Mohit Chauhan, Neeti Mohan and Svetha Rao. 

Press conferences at the Metropolitan Ballroom and dinner parties at the Pierre Hotel are also part of IIFA awards' official itinerary along with a business forum scheduled for today morning in New York. The IIFA awards will wrap after a closing party on Sunday.

The awards, known as the Indian Oscars, are a first-of-a-kind effort to promote Indian Cinema globally, thus reaching out to millions of its fans. The 18th edition this year is being hosted by Karan Johar and Saif Ali Khan.

Catch the IIFA awards on Colors on Saturday, July 29 available on Star Hub (Ch 128) and Singtel (Ch 652) to subscribers in Singapore and to other Southeast Asian countries and Australia. Telecast timings are: 

  • First airing at 1 pm Singapore/Hong Kong; 3 pm Sydney; 5 pm Auckland
  • Second airing at 6 pm Singapore/Hong Kong; 8 pm Sydney; 10 pm Auckland

The on-ground itinerary for the awards looks like this:

July 13

Times Square

  • IIFA Weekend Press from 16.00 – 17.30 hrs (06.30 am Friday IST)
  • IIFA Stomp from 18.00 – 20.00 hrs (08.30 am Friday)

Pierre Hotel

  • Gala Dinner from 19.00 – 22.00 hrs (09.30 am Friday)

July 14

Asia Society Building

  • FICCI-IIFA Business Forum from 09.00 – 17.00 hrs (12.30 am Saturday)

MetLife Stadium

  • IIFA Green Carpet from 18.00 -20.00 hrs (08.30 am Saturday)

July 15

MetLife Stadium

  • IIFA Red Carpet Awards from Saturday, 18.00 – 20.00 and 20.00 – 1.00 hrs (08.30 am Sunday)

July 16

La Marina

  • IIFA Closing Party from 16.00 – 23.30 hrs (06.30 am Monday)

CELEBRITIES PERFORMING:

IIFA Rocks: Diljit Dosanjh, AR Rahman, Aditi Rao Hydari, Benny Dayal, Hariharan, Haricharan Seshadri, Jonita Gandhi, Kailash Kher, Mika Singh, Mohit Chauhan, Neeti Mohan and Svetha Rao.

IIFA Awards: Salman Khan, Katrina Kaif, Alia Bhatt, Varun Dhawan, Kriti Sanon, Sushant Singh Rajput, Shahid Kapoor and Disha Patani.

Author
Tushaar Kuthiala
Tushaar Kuthiala – Senior Writer

Tushaar has five years experience as a journalist in founding two start-up newspapers. He worked as a special correspondent based in New Delhi with Daily World, an international media organisation. He enjoys reading and writing fiction in his spare time.

 

Comments